Back in the fall, when most of the garden was starting to slow down, this tomato plant started growing in the middle of one of the walkways.  One night, when the temperatures had dropped quite a bit, the little guy was on my mind, so around midnight I grabbed a shovel and dug it up. It had two yellow flowers, and was about 8″ tall.

Three months later, the tomato is about 3 feet tall and is living in my bedroom window. It should be warm enough to put it back outside in a few weeks. Honestly I’m surprised that it made it though the winter, but even more shocking is that it’s slowly produced two tiny tomatoes, that are now ripe. They are smaller than a marble, but still an accomplishment.

Earlier this week I noticed 2 more blooms on it, so I picked up 2 other tomato plants that are blooming in hopes of pollination. We will see how that goes. Either way, I’ve enjoyed having the little guy in the house to care for over the winter.

Leave a Reply

