My grandparents lived in a little house that the family moved to a plot of land that sits in the corner where Clear Creek runs straight to the mountain, then makes a 90 degree turn to the right, where it continues past the plots where their daughters set up their households. They used the corner as a cornfield, my cousin used it hunt arrowheads. There isn’t much flat land around there, so it must have been useful to Native Americans also.  The grandparents house, barns, and chicken coops – all gone but the house-  sit in the middle of the plot.

At the back of one of the sheds grandpa had a Paw Paw tree, which has shockingly outlasted the buildings and is bearing fruit, three of which dad sent me this morning.  They were a little beat up, and were brown from the travel, but the yellow fruit looked fine so I ate it. Many people say it reminds them of banana, but it mostly reminds me of a squishy yellow mango. They don’t sound or really look that good, but they are pretty tasty and are more tropical than you’d expect.

fullsizerender

If you are curious, this site has more info on the fruit.  Growing the fruit seems to be a long process, needing 5 years+ for fruit, but I’ll plant them anyway and see what happens.  This is the planting guide I’m going to reference.  When I was a kid, my grandfather gave me a maple seedling – essentially a crooked stick with a single leaf – and told me to plant it next to the garden and maybe someday I can sit under it and rest in the shade. Now that I’m older we appreciate that tree for its shade and its story. Maybe I can keep these Paw Paws alive long enough to have their own stories too.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

